Tuesday 25 August 2015

The districts of Taranaki

Taranaki is a region in New Zealand's north island. The main centre is the city of New Plymouth. The New Plymouth District has over 65% of the population of Taranaki. New Plymouth is in North Taranaki along with Inglewood and Waitara.
South Taranaki towns include Hawera, Stratford and Eltham. Taranaki is on the west coast of the North Island, surrounding the volcanic peak. The region has an area of 7258 km². The English name for Mount Taranaki is Mount Egmont. A Māori legend says that Taranaki previously lived with the Tongariro, Ngauruhoe and Ruapehu mountains of the central North Island but moved to its current location after a battle with Tongariro.
Also on the left side of the of the mounting there is a peak called " Fanthams Peak". Here is the population of sown of the districts in Taranaki.
Urban areaPopulation
(June 2014 estimate)[1]
 % of region
New Plymouth55,60048.4%

No comments:

Post a Comment